Friday, November 20, 2009 Lindenwood Home | Belleville Home
Butler Library Research Help Databases
   
Browse records in that    Search     
 Database NameCategoriesDescription
Academic OneFileGeneral Reference

Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Academic Search Premier General Reference, Humanities, Education, Social Sciences, Newspapers, Business News,

This multidisciplinary database includes unrivaled full text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc. Academic Search Premier contains indexing for 8,025 publications, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles.

Accounting LiteratureScience, Legal, Fine and Performing Arts, Political Science

provided by LexisNexis, contains articles which come from sources centered around the topic of accounting. The database indexes articles from journals and books such as Accounting Today, AICPA Journal of Accountancy, Miller GAAP Guide, and the Staff Accounting Bulletin. Full text is available and articles may be searched by keyword.

Agriculture CollectionAgriculture, Science

Broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of nearly 200 titles, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

America History & LifeHumanitiesan ABC-Clio database, is a historical database which covers the history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present. The database indexes and abstracts over 2000 journals and dissertations beginning in 1964 and continuing to the present. Nearly 90% of the articles are in English and full text is not available. Articles can be searched by keyword, subject terms, author or editor, title, journal name, publication date, and more.
Art Full TextFine and Performing ArtsThis database provides the user with selected full text in the discipline of art and art criticism.
AtlasHumanitiesProduced by the American Theological Library Association, this database covers journal literature, book reviews, multi-author works, and essays in all fields of religion. Beginning in 1949, this database is the premier research tool for religious studies.
Biographical Information Businessis a database provided by LexisNexis that indexes articles from a variety of sources which contain various types of information about people. Thus, articles from newspapers and magazines such as obituaries, biographical stories, and other people-related news stories are included. Reference books are also included and can be searched. Some selected texts are available in full text and information can be searched by last name, first name, keyword, and date.
Business and Company ASAPBusiness

Information on companies, markets and industries. From market trends, mergers and acquisitions to current management theory and company overviews. Access business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.

Business and Company Resource CenterBusiness

Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Business Economics and TheoryBusiness, Economics

Strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research.

Business NewsBusinessconsists of two databases, Business News and Industry & Market, and is provided by LexisNexis. Business News indexes articles in newspapers, magazines, wires, transcripts and journals pertaining to the topics of business, industry, mergers & acquisitions, and financial news. Full text is available for some selected titles. In Industry & Market, articles can be found by selecting a specific industry of which you are interested in. Articles can be searched by headline, author, caption, full text, company name, location, and ticker symbol.
Business Reference MaterialsBusinessa database from LexisNexis, contains business directories and reference sources. Articles are indexed from such sources as Eventline, The American Marketplace , SIC Directory, and World Business Opportunities along with many others. These sources contain information concerning exhibitions, trade shows, holidays, marketing analysis, government contracts, sales of government property, and investment opportunities around the world. Full text is available.
Business Source PremierBusinessThis database includes full text access to over 2700 scholarly journals and business periodicals. Topics covered include accounting, economics, management, economics, finance, international business, etc. In addition, Business Source Premier full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Career Information Business, General Referenceis a selection of databases, provided by LexisNexis, which provide information concerning careers in law. The databases available are Law School Directories, Martindale-Hubbell� Law Directory Listings, and Choosing a Law School. The materials contain information on lawyers and law firms, such as contact information and area of practice, and law schools including contact information and faculty. Full text is available.
Case Law Businessis a group of databases, from LexisNexis, centered around federal and state case law. The databases available include Get a Case, Federal Case Law, State Case Law, Area of Law by Topic, and Shepard's� for U.S. Supreme Court. These databases contain federal and state legal cases, citations of U.S. Supreme Court cases, decisions from federal courts on all levels, and state high court and appellate decisions. The databases can be searched by party name, citation, keyword, court, state, topic, plaintiff, judge, and many more. Full text is available.
Codes & RegulationsBusiness provided by LexisNexis, is a collection of databases containing information on federal and state codes and regulations. The databases available for searching are Federal Code, Federal Regulations, States Codes, and Tax Law. The databases contain information concerning federal codes and regulations, statutory laws and court rulings from all states, tax regulations, agency opinions, and the U.S. Constitution and court rules. The information is taken from such sources as the U.S. Code, the Constitution, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, state codes, and the Internal Revenue Code.
Communication & Mass Media Complete Communicationsis a combination of the two databases formerly known as CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Together, along with other added features and articles provided by EBSCOhost, the database CMMC contains the full text of over 200 journals with coverage of articles reaching back for decades.
Communications and Mass Media CollectionCommunications, Mass Media

 

Company Information Business, General Referenceis a group of databases available from LexisNexis which includes Company Financial, Compare Companies, and SEC Filings and Reports. These databases contain articles from various directories and reports concerned with the financial data of companies, annual and quarterly reports of companies, Edgar filings, contact information, and proxy statements. Full text is available and examples of searches available include company name, SIC, sales, net income, location, and ticker symbol among others.
Country ProfilesHumanities, Science, General Reference is a LexisNexis service which contains information about geographic entities such as independent states, countries, and areas of special sovereignty. The CIA Factbook and Walden Country Reports provide the information and are available in full text. Information about these entities includes key facts, political structure, armed forces, agriculture, education, health & welfare, and many more.
Criminal Justice CollectionCrimnal Justice

 

Discovering CollectionGeneral Reference

Discovering Collection offers access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering the core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, DC provides a premium selection of reference, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to the database are popular topic picklists and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

Dissertation AbstractsGeberal Reference, Education 
Education Full Text, Educationa WilsonWeb database, contains articles pertaining to the broad category of education. The database indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks as well as some books that were published after 1995. Full text is available for articles published after January 1996. Topics covered include continuing education, athletics, teacher education, teaching methods, higher education, government funding, library science, elementary education, and school administration.
Educator's Reference CollectionEducation

 

EricEducationthe Education Resource Information Center, is a database supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement to provide indexes and abstracts of articles pertain to the subject of education. The database contains over 1000 journals, with a some selected titles in full text, and approximately 2200 digests being available in full text. The database can be searched by subject, title, author, core subject, abstract, institution name, clearing house, journal name, intended audience, and language.
Fine Arts and Music CollectionFine & Performing Arts

Resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

General OneFileGeneral Reference

Source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Grove ArtFine and Performing Arts

 

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module 

Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.

Health Reference Center Medicine, Science

Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center.

Historical Abstracts, Humanitiesan ABC-Clio database, is a historical database containing articles which cover the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by the database America: History and Life, from 1450 to the present. The database began indexing and abstracting article in journals, books, and dissertations in 1954 and continues to the present. Full text is not available for any of the citations. Searches available include keyword, subject terms, author, document type, and title among many more.
InformeForeign Language

Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

International index to the Performing Arts The International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts--drama, theater, dance, film, television, etc. This database indexes over 200 periodicals and includes selected full text from 1998 to the present.
JSTORGeneral Reference, Humanities, Education, Social Sciences, Newspapers, Business News,JSTOR is a completely full text multi disciplinary database that includes complete runs of journals. This means that any journal indexed in JSTOR will be available
Literature Resource CenterHumanities

This database includes more than 126,500 full text poems, as well as full text of essays, speeches, plays and stories.

Medical AbstractsScience, Medicinea service of LexisNexis, provides access to the National Library of Medicine's Medline. Medline is a bibliographic database which contains articles from medical journals as far back as 1966. Topics covered in Medical Abstracts include family medicine, emergency medicine, cardiology, dermatology, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacy, sports medicine, veterinary medicine, and many more. Full text is not available.
Medical JournalsScience, Medicinea service of LexisNexis, indexes and abstracts articles from medical and health journals. There are 20 titles available including The Lancet and the Journal of the National Cancer Institute. Full text is available.
Medical NewsScience, Medicinea service of LexisNexis, is a database which indexes articles from medical and health news sources. Examples of sources include Cancer Weekly, Drug Week, and Modern Healthcare. Full text is available for some selected titles and articles can be searched by headline, caption, full text, and author.
MedLine/PubMedScience, Medicineis a database which pertains to the current news of all the branches of the military and government. The database contains an image collection, journals, pamphlets, and other various publications with approximately 300 periodicals being available in full text. The database is searchable by author, article title, abstract, subject, accession number, ISSN, journal name, and author-supplied abstract.
Mental Measurements YearbookSocial Sciences 
Military & Government CollectionHumanities, Social Sciencesis a database which pertains to the current news of all the branches of the military and government. The database contains an image collection, journals, pamphlets, and other various publications with approximately 300 periodicals being available in full text. The database is searchable by author, article title, abstract, subject, accession number, ISSN, journal name, and author-supplied abstract.
MLA BibliographyHumanities

a database produced by the Modern Language Association, indexes articles on the topics of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The articles come from nearly 4000 journals and series as well as from books, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and more. Coverage of the articles runs from 1963 until the present and full text is not available for any of the articles indexed. Examples of available searches includes author, citation, descriptors, journal name, publication information, source, and title.

MorningstarBusinessMorningstar provides detailed investment information.
Naxos Music LibraryFine & Performing Arts

 

News SearchBusiness, General Referenceis a database, provided by LexisNexis, which contains indexes to articles from a variety of sources covering a wide range of topics. The database contains some full text from transcripts, newspapers, magazines, wires, and some non-English language publications. Some sources include The New York Times, Newsweek, American Demographics, U.S. News & World Report, and the Chronicle of Higher Education. The database is updated daily and articles can be searched by headline, author, caption, and full text.
OEDGeneral Reference, Humanities 
Opposing ViewpointsGeneral Reference, Humanities

This database includes articles on current event topics. Articles include facts as well as arguments from each topic�s proponents and detractors. This level of access allows users to look at a topic from multiple perspectives.

Philosopher's IndexHumanities

provided by SilverPlatter, is an index to both books and journals pertaining to the subjects of ethics, logic, aesthetics, epistemology, metaphysics, and philosophy concerning the areas of law, religion, science, history and education. The database begins indexing articles in 1940 and continues until the present. Abstracts are also available for articles, however there is no full text of the articles. Abstract, author, descriptor, ISSN, journal title, publication information, and source are all examples of possible searches available.

Polls & SurveysGeneral Reference, Social Scienceprovided by LexisNexis, searches the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research for polls and surveys on a variety of topics including politics and government, business, and consumer behavior. Polls and surveys are available from such sources as ABC, CBS, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and Gallup. Full text is available and materials can be searched by keyword, survey sponsor, survey organization, question, survey document, Roper accession number, population, and number of participants.
Popular MagazinesGeneral Reference

 This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries". Titles like Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, and NPR.

ProQuest Historic New York TimesHumanities

is a full-image archive to the New York Times from 1851-2001 (with new years added annually). The database contains every page, cover to cover, of the daily newspaper in downloadable pdf format. The database contains comics, cartoons, editorials, classified ads, and more along with the news articles.

ProQuest Psychology Journals, Social Sciencesprovided by ProQuest, is a database which indexes articles from a variety of publications concerning the subject of psychology. The database contains over 400 publications with all being available in full text. Coverage varies by publication, however many journals are covered as far back as the early 1990s. Search options include author, abstract, article title, person, publication title, and subject.
Small Business Resource CenterBusiness

Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

Social Services Abstracts  
Social Work AbstractsSocial Work

 

SocIndex with Full TextSocial SciencesSocIndex is the premier research database in the area of Sociology. With some coverage dating back as far as 1895, this database provides comprehensive coverage through access to full text of books, conference papers, and journal articles.
SportsDiscusAthletic Training 
State ProfilesGeneral Reference provided by LexisNexis, contains all the state profiles for the United States from the World Almanac of the U.S.A. The profiles are from the 1998 edition and are available in full text. The profiles can be searched by state and include statistics on crime, health, population, education, religion, economy, sports, and more along with other moments in history and famous natives.
Tests in PrintSocial Sciences 
World AlmanacGeneral Referenceprovided by LexisNexis, contains the full text of the World Almanac and Book of Facts. The 2003 edition is covered and a variety of information is available. The database is searchable by keyword.
Privacy StatementTerms Of UseCopyright 2009 by Lindenwood University, St. Charles, Missouri

BorderBoxedBlueBoxedGrayBlue Small width layoutMedium width layoutMaximum width layoutMaximum textMedium textSmall textBack Top!